news-details
Here comes a total lunar eclipse and supermoon, all wrapped into one
* The moon, Earth and sun will line up this weekend for the only total lunar eclipse this year and next. At the same time, the moon will be ever so closer to Earth and appear slightly bigger and brighter than usual — a supermoon.

* The whole eclipse starts Sunday night or early Monday, depending on location and will take about three hours.

* It begins with the partial phase around 10:34 pm EST (9.04 am IST) Sunday. That's when Earth's shadow will begin to nip at the moon.

* Totality — when Earth's shadow completely blankets the moon — will last 62 minutes, beginning at 11:41 pm EST (10.11 am IST) Sunday.

* The entire eclipse will be visible in North and South America, as well as Greenland, Iceland, Ireland, Great Britain, Norway, Sweden, Portugal and the French and Spanish coasts.

* Some places will be livestreaming it, including the Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles.

* During totality, the moon will look red because of sunlight scattering off Earth's atmosphere. That's why an eclipsed moon is sometimes known as a blood moon. (In January, the full moon is also sometimes known as the wolf moon or great spirit moon.)



* So informally speaking, the upcoming lunar eclipse will be a super blood wolf — or great spirit — moon.

* Asia, Australia and New Zealand are out of luck.

* The next total lunar eclipse won't be until May 2021.

* As for full-moon supermoons, this will be the first of three this year. The upcoming supermoon will be about 222,000 miles (357,300 kilometers) away. The February 19 supermoon will be a bit closer and the one on March 20 will be the farthest.
Related Posts