Niroshan Dickwella scored 111

Niroshan Dickwella scored 111 © AFP

A fine hundred from Niroshan Dickwella helped Sri Lanka A win the fifth and final unofficial ODI against India A by seven wickets, levelling the series 2-2 in Hubli.

Opting to bowl first, Sri Lanka struck early with the wicket of Prashant Chopra, who was bowled by Chamika Karunaratne. A 59-run stand for the second wicket helped India A recover. Opening batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad, with scores of 187* and 125* in the series so far, made 74 off 73 balls, holding one end up and building important partnerships with Anmolpreet Singh and Ricky Bhui for the second and third wicket respectively.

After Gaikwad's dismissal though, India A failed to forge a substantial partnership and lost their last six wickets for 48 runs. Akila Dananjaya starred with three wickets, which included those of Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda and Shreyas Gopal.

Chasing, Sri Lanka got off to a flying start. Dickwella and Sangeeth Cooray put on 165 runs for the first wicket, thus helping Sri Lanka chase down 260 with 2.2 overs to spare. Both fell to Shreyas Gopal in consecutive overs for the bowler, but the damage had been done. After the fall of Bhanuka Rajapaksa, also to Gopal, Shehan Jayasuriya and Ashan Priyanjan then got together and compiled an unbeaten 75 runs to take Sri Lanka A home.

Brief Scores: India A 259 in 50 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 74; Akila Dananjaya 3-51) lost to Sri Lanka A 260/3 in 47.4 overs (Niroshan Dickwella 111, Sangeeth Cooray 61; Shreyas Gopal 3-49) by 7 wickets

© Cricbuzz

Related Posts